Church vs. Self

This post won’t be long- I don’t really think it needs to be. I would just like to comment on the infighting that seems ever so present within the Church today.

Every single time I go on Facebook, I see at least six politically-fueled rants. Often times, I’ll see arguments explode in comment sections of videos and blogs. And even worse, I’ll see indirect attacks on people’s character. And who do I see at the forefront of these arguments? Often times, fellow Christians. Christians who go to church together on Sunday morning, yet totally disregard each other the following Tuesday. Christians who will listen to each other pray at a Bible study, but not to the concerns that are heavy on their hearts. These days, it seems like Christians only ever unite on a Sunday.

It seems like the Church is the most divided it has been in a long time. However, I’m wondering is this a unique time in the history of the Church, or if I’m just noticing it more because of the advent of social media. For the sake of the people of God, I hope it’s the former, because if it’s the latter, we may be in serious trouble.

If it’s a unique time in the Church’s history, then we have the comfort in knowing that we have never faced such divisions, so we’re all just trying to learn together. But if the fragmentation of the Church is a long repeated pattern, then we have no excuse. Spoiler alert: this is not the first or the last time that church has been or will be divided.

I want to have hope, and I want to be able to say that it will get better. I don’t have that assurance. As long as we are interested in hearing our own voices, and not the voices of the people we’re talking at, we’re in for more divisions in the church. As long as we purchase the lie that standing with one side means fighting against another, we’re in for so much more hostility. Are we okay with that? It seems like we are.

In order to hear my words, you must first silence the comments that you are preparing in this very moment. That may be impossible for some of us to do. But I hope someone reads this and considers the consequences of a divided Church and aspires to step away from the status quo. We need to stand together in order to shine the light and love of Christ in a dark time. If we cannot stand together, we might as well take our light, hide it under a bushel and call it a day.

 

Leave a Reply

